Werbung / Advertisements

Facts about Bratislava

K800 Bratislava Tag Schloss

When did Slovakia join the EU?

Slovakia joined the EU on 1 May 2004. Since 1 January 2009, Slovakia has also joined the euro currency area and thus has the euro as its official means of payment. At that time, Slovakia joined the EU eastward enlargement together with the Czech Republic, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Hungary and 5 other states of the European Union. As of 2007, Slovakia is also part of the Schengen Agreement, which abolished border controls between Austria and Slovakia and neighboring countries.

Is Slovakia part of the EU?

Slovakia has been part of the European Union since the EU eastern enlargement in 2004. The eastward enlargement of the EU was the largest admission process in the European Union, with the neighboring states of the Czech Republic and Hungary becoming part of the European Union alongside Slovakia. The official admission to the EU took place on 1 May 2004. The official currency of Slovakia since 1 January 2009 is the euro.

Which country borders with Slovakia?

A total of 5 neighboring countries border Slovakia. These are clockwise from the north: Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic.

Where is Slovakia situated in Europe?

Slovakia is located in Eastern Europe and is thus considered to be an Eastern European state. In the EU, Slovakia has an eastern border with the non-EU state Ukraine. The neighboring countries of Slovakia starting from the north are Poland, Ukraine, Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic. Slovakia has no access to the sea and, together with Austria, Hungary or the Czech Republic, is therefore part of the Central European or Eastern European inland.

Does Slovakia already have the euro?

With the accession to the Euro currency area, Slovakia has been using the Euro (EUR) as official means of payment since 01.01.2009. Before the euro as the official currency, Slovakia had the Slovak koruna (SKK). This was replaced on 1 January 2009 by the euro.

What kind of language do you speak in Slovakia?

Slovak is spoken in Slovakia. The Slovak language belongs (together with Czech) to the West Slavic languages. Slovak is spoken by about 5 million Slovaks and 2 million emigrants. Due to the EU accession on 01.05.2004, Slovak is one of the official languages of the EU. Due to the common language families, Czechs and Slovaks understand themselves without any problems.

In which country is Bratislava?

Bratislava is the capital of Slovakia and lies on the western edge of the state of Slovakia. The city is located on a tri-border region between Slovakia, Austria and Hungary. While Austria is 5 km to the west and Hungary 20 km to the south, the Czech Republic, 62 km to the north, is not far away either.

What currency is there in Bratislava?

The current currency of Slovakia is the Euro (EUR). The euro is the official means of payment in Bratislava as well as the rest of Slovakia. Before Slovakia switched to the euro as a means of payment, Slovakia had the Slovak koruna (SKK). Slovakia has been part of the euro currency area since 01.01.2009.

What is the German name of Bratislava?

The German name for Bratislava is Pressburg (formerly Pressburg). Bratislava is the capital of Slovakia and the largest city in the country. Bratislava is also only a few kilometers from Vienna and located in western Slovakia. Incidentally, the city has only been named after the last century. Overall, Bratislava was renamed more than 15 times, including in the name Preßburg.

Which river flows through Bratislava?

The 2,850 km long Danube flows through Bratislava. Bratislava is therefore a popular destination for many river travelers. Also as a day trip Bratislava is easily accessible from Vienna. The river separates the two halves of the city, with the old town in the flow direction on the left bank of the Danube. The UFO lookout tower provides a beautiful view of the Danube, the castle and Bratislava.

You may also like...

Werbung / Advertisements